Conversation

Hope you all had a great labor day weekend – good luck to all those entering and re-entering school this year! I’m losing all three of my crew to the education system this year. Aura will be taking social work, and Emery is starting kindergarten. Kieran is going into grade three. Then there’s me, banging away in front of my computer, or stuck behind a book.

You’ll have noticed that I’ve given a new name to the blog. Welcome, dear reader, to The New Dialogue.

Gone are the first two months and their nonspecific title. I spent a long hour and a half batting ideas back and forth with my wife, and we came up with a ton of options. What we kept running into was a quality vs. quantity dilemma; whenever I would look up a nifty new potential, it was already taken by someone bigger and badder than me. On the other hand, most of the truly garbage titles were free for the taking. I believe I’ve found a reasonable balance.

Thanks to Brian L. for prompting this alteration.

At one point Aura suggested Den of Dreams. We were enthused. Great idea, I said. Den suggests home, and connotes Daniel and the lions’ den. That’s cute. Dreams can indicate aspirations, and in this case would probably mean shared goals. It’s a nice set of ideas, I said.

Just look it up. Look it up and see why I didn’t go with this. Imagine the comments:

“I was looking for something to stir my senses, and found your blog. Your writing is hypnotic, even delicious. I knew I could only resist for so long.”

Flattering, but misplaced. Thanks for nothing, Tasha Lynn.

That being said, I’m very happy with The New Dialogue. It’s surprisingly unique on the web, and describes well one of the things I value most highly in life: conversation. I started this blog as a means of conversation with you. It was going to be your window into my life, and my way of reaching out to yours. In many ways, this holds true; in others, my vision has broadened.

.

I have a request to make of you.

As you’re aware by now, I’ll be starting up a reviews blog quite soon. It’s going to be covering two of the more major formats of communication today: movies, and books. In fancy talk, Film and Literature. In fact – I already have a name for the site: The Parrington Review! Easy to remember – provided my name isn’t too much of a hurdle – and straight to the point. It’s coming online as of September 25th – mark your calendars!

My request: tell me what you’d like to see reviewed. See, I have a list as long as my arm would be if my arm were as long as my hallway. There’s so much I want to share. I’ve read and admired a lot of books, seen and loved a great number of films. But hey – why write about them if you’re not interested?

So tell me what you want; I’ll do it. No reservations on my part. No conditions.

A word of warning, so long as we’re on this – The Parrington Review is not going to be family fare.

The New Dialogue – from its origin as Dan Writes a Blog through to the end of eternity – is and will always be family friendly. I don’t cuss, I don’t make naughty jokes, and I don’t deal with mature subject matter. It’s suitable for all ages, as the movie authorities say.

The Parrington Review, on the other hand, is going to be built to deal with the heaviest stuff out there. Many of the books and movies I’ll be having a look at and dealing with mature themes. I hope very much that if this perturbs you, you’ll simply stick around here and continue to enjoy what I have to offer on my personal journey.

For those of you, however, who think this sounds wicked – it is. We’re going to have a lot of fun. I’ll see you there.

.

You may wonder why do I do all this. What motivates me to write, and to share it around at large? And why so suddenly?

I explained my primary motivation early on. I’ll reiterate it now, with a little perspective. I write to express myself, and to learn new modes of expression. I write because I have so much going on inside, and badly need a way to let it out. And I write because I’m happy – when I feel good, I want to reach out and share some of that warmth.

It’s challenging, writing so much and so often. It’s difficult to ensure that what I offer is worth reading. But the work itself is part of the pleasure.

This all happened at once because that’s how things changed for me – all at once. As a result of a few simple changes in my medical strategy, I went from zombie-Dan to inspired-Dan. I was fed up, and took things into my own hands. And I have the best people in the world to support me.

Creation is one of the fundamental impulses of human existence. As a writer, I’ve found a way to be true to that facet of my deepest humanity: I am a tool-maker, storyteller, dreamer. I respond to the call of my own nature, and seek transcendence. I seek to converse – to find illumination in the hearts and minds of others, and to illuminate what I can in return. I believe that through common dialogue, we find meaning; through conversation, we widen the scope of perspective.

This blog is just my way of taking part.

8 responses to “Conversation

  • mel

    That last paragraph is gold – shout it from the mountain tops!
    Glad you found your `happy place`and share it with us here. ;o)

    • Dan

      I’m not much of a shouter, but here it is for anyone interested in hearing it!

      I’ll continue to share, and gladly so. My new site should provide me with a neat opportunity to do so in a different way, too.

  • brentbowker

    I’ll admit, I’m more interested in reading a review after I’ve read a book rather than spoil my interest going in. I am however, interested in seeing a general rating scale before reading. While not foolproof it does provide a general indication of the mass appeal of something which one may or may not care about or be interested in.

    Rather than suggest something specific in terms of content, I’ll recommend a “Dan Recommends” section 🙂 Look forward to it

    • Dan

      I’m one step ahead of you!

      I actually have a color code – the color bar at the beginning of a post will indicate what sort of review the work in question is being treated/subjected to. You won’t even have to read on if you just want my blanket take on things 🙂

  • Dennis

    How about commenting on the movie(s) that influenced you the most?

  • Mina Joshi

    Dan

    It’s so lovely to read that you brainstormed the title of your blog with your wife and came up with a name. In my experience it’s a rare quality. Most partners end up arguing!!

    For your movie reviews – I hope you will review movies for all ages and genres too!! Be interesting to read what you think of some of the Bollywood movies!!

    For your Book review – will you just be reviewing fiction? Be nice to see reviews of cookery books too!!

    Mina Joshi

Leave a Reply

conflict antiquities

illicit antiquities trading in economic crisis, organised crime and political violence

Philip Day Communications

Philip Day Communications specializes in copywriting, voiceovers, SEO/SEM and many other online content services.

American Drain Cleaning and Plumbing

American Drain Cleaning and Plumbing of Phoenixville, Pa. offers commercial and residential services

Criminal Thinking Deterred

Promoting thinking changes that save lives

The Parrington Review

Film, Lit and Website Reviews

HQ digs

Office design ideas

michaelparrington

A fine WordPress.com site

LunarHarvest

Health. Gardening. Herbalism. Homesteading.

Baldrige Resource Library

Just another WordPress.com site

