Dan & Aura

Aura Lynn Delorme was born on July 2, 1976. When she was halfway through grade six- on December 26, 1988- Daniel William Parrington made his own appearance. At the time, she was not aware of the allure he would later cast over her, entwining her in his sweet and fragrant meshes. Nor did he know about the girl who would eventually annihilate his defenses and utterly rule his heart.

Quite an age gap, as some of you have noticed. Well, let’s get that out there right from the start. Look at it this way: I get the benefit of being married to a woman, a real woman. Never have I had such an understanding or self-assured partner- never have I been with someone so wise to my devious nature. She keeps me accountable, and she bathes me in a warm and worldly love.

Aura, of course, has the dubious privilege of sharing her life with me. She seems to enjoy herself, though.

Well, that little girl did eventually grow up. She got to spend her childhood in the eighties, and her teen years in the nineties- the extent to which I envy her is monumental. Half the music I listen to is from before I was old enough to be listening- or in some cases, before I was ever imagined into existence by my folks. And yes, I know it takes more than imagination to form a child; I don’t dwell on these things.

I grew up, too, although I haven’t been able to quite catch up with Aura. Many of you have been with me through those growing up years, and what you don’t know already, sooner or later I will write about. But right now we need to skip ahead to my nineteenth birthday- December 26, 2008. I was in the midst of my time at Chapters, and I had met Aura very briefly upon her return from maternity leave. She was preparing a family for us, you see.

Not much need be said about the situation within which Aura existed before we finally got together. There was a miserable fellow who shared his misery with anyone who would listen, and he helped to provide us with the makings of a beautiful family. At one point, I suppose, he had had charm to exert; but the charm had long given way to a black cloud. Aura was, in a word, unhappy.

Now, some of you may feel uncomfortable with what happened next. May I assure you, if it helps, that my intentions were always good- and so were Aura’s. Everything was aboveboard, believe it or not, and no irrevocable action was taken by either of us until after Aura had left and severed emotional ties with her then partner.

With the passing of time in a shared workplace, my interest was sparked and burst into flames. This girl had eyes like bottomless pools, a heart as tender as that of a child, and a mind as sharp as the Cutco knives I used to sell. It didn’t hurt that she was prettier than sunrise in the foothills of Alberta. I asked her to lunch, coffee, a staring match- whatever- until she said yes. She needed a friend, I needed a friend, and we found each other.

We saw a lot of each other over the next several months, and it came out that Aura was planning to leave her partner. She was tired of the lousy match, and ready to go her own way. I begged her to let me join her in that journey, and it didn’t take a whole lot of begging before we had come up with a course of action. She moved into 839 Talwood Dr. on April 18th, 2009- and so did I.

Over the next year, I found my life transformed from that of a single working guy to a committed relationship with two kids. It was hard. It was really hard, believe me. But I was happy, too- I was beginning to see that I had found a security and responsibility that I had been craving very deeply without even knowing just how much I wanted it. We helped each other through some hard times, in those early days, and dealt with a lot of drama. Adaptation took time, and Carol had been diagnosed with cancer within weeks of our moving in. Still, we were in love, and the process of becoming family had begun.

A year or so after our getting together, the boys started to see me as a second father. I was getting very attached to them as well, and began to understand that I had two boys. This was by far the most beautiful and difficult process that had taken place yet. Relinquishing sole parenthood, for Aura, must have been tremendously hard- and as she did, I came to see just how total she trusted me. These were her babies, her only children- and she chose to share them with me.

On November 12, 2011, we were made man, wife, and sons. A number of you were there- it is a precious day in our memories, Thank you, by the way, for being there and making it all it was. To those of you who were not with us: your friendship, near and far, past and present, has nevertheless helped us in getting to where we have. And we do apologise for the inexcusably extreme lateness of our Thank You cards! They will show up at some point, as absurd as that might seem now.

That’s about the whole story. My relationship with Aura continues to grow in mutual understanding and affection, and we are making plans to enrich and expand our experience for years to come. With the involvement of our immediate and extended families, and the support and fun provided us by our friends, we have great hopes for a long and happy existence as a family unit.

So again, thanks for the role you’ve played in our story so far. I hope you’ve enjoyed my primer on Dan and Aura. I’ll do a write up specifically on the boys sometime, too. And actually, I plan on writing about a few of you pretty soon. Stay tuned and I’ll see you there-

Cheers, Dan

One response to “Dan & Aura

  • September, 2011 « The New Dialogue

    […] Cancer is a terrible curse. I don’t believe it was cast by anyone, and I don’t believe anyone deserves it; nevertheless, seeing my mother-in-law being consumed with it made me want to lash out. Those last few months were full of anger, for me. Old anger resurfaced at a Creator I did not understand; fresh anger at the loss of a kind and giving soul. She was supposed to have been mine, too – part of the package I signed up for when I committed myself to her daughter. […]

Leave a Reply

conflict antiquities

illicit antiquities trading in economic crisis, organised crime and political violence

Philip Day Communications

Philip Day Communications specializes in copywriting, voiceovers, SEO/SEM and many other online content services.

American Drain Cleaning and Plumbing

American Drain Cleaning and Plumbing of Phoenixville, Pa. offers commercial and residential services

Criminal Thinking Deterred

Promoting thinking changes that save lives

The Parrington Review

Film, Lit and Website Reviews

HQ digs

Office design ideas

michaelparrington

A fine WordPress.com site

LunarHarvest

Health. Gardening. Herbalism. Homesteading.

Baldrige Resource Library

Just another WordPress.com site

